What Are You Reading Today?

Image 2What are you reading today?

Are you a fan of old-fashioned love stories? Sweet romance? Or do you want more bang for your reading buck with lots of hot action, mystery, suspense…and anything goes?

Do you enjoy walking on the wild side — with creatures of the night? How about stepping back in time with Regencies or Americana?

Exotic locations? The old west? Bright lights and big cities? What appeals to you as a reader?

Share your thoughts here and let today’s romance authors know what you enjoy reading — and why!

14 thoughts on “What Are You Reading Today?

  1. aimingtobegreen says:

    I love realistic stories, ones that have been well researched and are historically accurate. Stories that make me want to find out more about the place and era in which they are set. I particularly like stories that are perhaps set in unusual locations or from an era in which I know nothing about before I start, gives me the opportunity to find out about somewhere new.

    • I agree that setting plays a big part. I remember reading “Twice Loved” by Lavyrle Spencer and being in awe of the details she provided about the time and place. It made the story totally unforgettable. Thanks so much for dropping by and checking out my new blog. I’m arranging for several author friends to share their upcoming releases.

  2. Pet peeves are not enough books featuring the older hero/heroine; heroines bouncing around from one bloke to another (exhausting) an unachievable fantasy element regarding the love scenes, and mum lit books (shudder) that revolve around mums in their late thirties drinking wine and moaning about their kids/hubbies. Im in my early 40s and I don’t do that…I drink tea!
    As for what I am reading at the moment, well I’m kinda into the Amish novels, which is weird because I live in England. The sweet old fashioned Betty Neels romances and historical romances by Marguerite Kaye.
    I have a job as a proofreader for the company I am published with and there are some corkers of novels I have enjoyed reading. I guess Im just an old fashioned English gal at heart!

  3. At the moment I`m reading my first military suspense romance. Most generally I tend to read erotic romances, fantasy, (Song of Fire and Ice, Tolkien, etc.), paranormal romance, and some historical romance. I also will read YA on occasion but it has to be really fast paced and filled with adventure. I also enjoy M/M romances a great deal. I`m pretty much up for any genre, any setting, any time period as long as the story is good and the door to the bedroom is left wide open. =)

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Vicki. Are you interested in doing an interview for the blog? Let me know! I have “An Unlikely Countess” on my TBR list and hope to get to it very soon. I enjoyed “Pink Pucks and Power Plays” — which was my first “sports romance”… well, except for a few I read back in high school, but those were much different LOL. I should say this was the first “adult” sports romance I’ve read.

  4. Kathy Heare Watts says:

    Characters with character, interactions or tete-a-tete. I like strong alpha males and feisty females! I not big into sci-fi, but have read some that were ok. Paranormal is ok, but not my favorite either! I think sometimes we see too many billionaire themes, like they are on every block! Really? I read from sweet romance/Christian romance to Regency, Westerns, Historical, Medieval, Contemporary to Erotica Romance! One of my favorite themes is Mail Order brides (or groom) stories.
    What am I reading right now, it is a Fantasy/Sci-fi erotica! In it we have humans, werewolves, vampires, fae, witches and demons. OMG, we are almost in the paranormal realm of the Wizard of Oz! 😀

    • I really like the “characters with character” concept…that’s important to me both as a reader and as an author. Seeing how people rise to the occasion and strive to overcome problems is what I most enjoy in fiction, especially in romance. Thanks so much for dropping by and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  5. I have to agree there’s not enough older hero’s and heroines. you can fall in love and have sex after 40. If the character’s are over 40 they usually have a house full of kids and there’s all sorts of problems. Another pet peeve is authors always putting children in stories….not everyone wants children and some of us only are given one(one’s enough for anyone). Love what you have and don’t push multiple children on people. Plus not every child who’s parent finds love a second time is hateful and mean. They don’t always hate that person who makes their parent happy. I will step off my soap box but you did ask for pet peeve’s!!!!! Oh and over 40 can have erotic plots also!!!!LOL

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

