Author Quick Chat with Tabitha Shay

Hi, readers!  I’ve got author Tabitha Shay here today for a quick chat.  Here’s the question I posed to her:

How do you deal with writer’s block?



She came up with a delightful — illustrated — reply. I loved it!

Good Morning Readers,

LipsBefore we get started, I’d like to thank Christina for inviting me to do this quick chat.

Writing is not only hard, but it’s a lonely job too. You’re always isolated, most times family is ignored because you’re working on a good action or sex scene and don’t want to Chit Chatstop to chit-chat. I almost always ignore the phone and tune out everything.

But every now and then, when I come up for air, it’s usually because I’ve painted myself into a corner and have no plan on how to escape. Hence, writer’s block rears its ugly head.

What do I do to get back in the groove? I shut down my manuscript and take some time with hubby and kids.

WalkingOr I watch movies, ones I didn’t take time to watch while writing. I’m also a hidden object game fanatic. This is when I order new games and spend two or three days solving them. It relaxes me, allows me to think on my own time and not my writing.

 

Once my writer’s block is resolved, it’s back to the Bat Cave and work, work, work!

Bat Cave

 



Oooh! Hidden object games! I love them! What do YOU do when you need a break?



AUTHOR PIC JPEG IMAGE (3)

 

Tabitha Shay, author of paranormal romances, Witch’s Brew, Witch’s Heart, Witch‘s Moon, Witch’s Magic, Witch’s Fire, and Witch’s Touch.

A member of the Oklahoma Writer’s Federation, Inc., she has served as both a category chair and judge. Her books have been nominated for several awards, including the prestigious P.E.A.R.L. Award for Witch’s Magic and Witch’s Moon, which was also nominated for Best All Around Paranormal in 2008. Witch’s Fire won Runner Up for Best Paranormal Book of 2010 at LRC. Her latest release is a paranormal historical titled, Send Him an Angel, book one in the Angels of Deadwood Gulch Series.

Ms. Shay also writes under the name, Jaydyn Chelcee, and is the author of the best selling, contemporary western romances, Montana Men Series, In the Arms of Danger, No Holds Barred, Too Hot to Handle/Too Close to the Fire, Playing for Keeps, and Wild. Visit her online at Tabitha Shay and Jaydyn Chelcee. Coming in 2014, Darkest Angel, book 2 in the Angels of Deadwood Gulch Series.



 

Check out Witch’s Touch by Tabitha Shay!

Death takes an unscheduled holiday…

Giver of Life—Nyra Winters has two abilities that no witch before her has ever possessed—the power to heal and restore life. However, her constant interference in Death’s plans makes her a target of the angry god, King Titan, ruler of the Underworld.

Seeker of Death—Dym Satarius, Prince of Death, is sent to the magical realm of Ru-Noc to collect Nyra Winters. Devoid of all emotion, Dym believes this assignment will be no different than any other—collect the witch’s soul and return to hell—job done—but something goes terribly wrong and he is stranded in Nyra’s world without his powers or the ability to return to his realm.

Injured and marooned in a realm he doesn’t understand, Dym desperately needs a stroke of magic from the one person who has every reason to hate and fear him…

WitchsTouch_SM

Secret Cravings Publishing

Amazon

 

49 thoughts on “Author Quick Chat with Tabitha Shay

  1. I love hidden object games, Tabitha! I have Madame Fate (My favorite), a couple of Ravenhearst games, and for my Kindle, I have a Hawaiian vacation game. Hubby and I play together. We imagine we’re actually on vacation… oh, today, let’s go … LOL. Ok, we’re silly. It makes life fun. Interesting, at least.

    • I have 52 Hidden Object games activated. I love Sarah Maribou and the Lost World and the Mirror Mysteries…There are several others that are my favorites as well. I only have a couple that I haven’t been able to solve. Hopefully, I’ll figure them out one day…

  2. I deal with writers block by eating Chocolate and watching Doctor Who. Or simply staring at my computer screen in frustration.

    I’m still new to writing novels (Short stories and poems were my life before) and the writers block is new for me 🙂

    • It’s important that we have constructive ways to deal with “those days” — you know, the ones where we’re distracted or don’t want to write. In my own life, I avoid the term “writer’s block” because I view writing as a choice. The best way to beat “writer’s block” is to just sit down and write. But, yes, there are days when I don’t feel too creative. Those are days when we need distractions. Short ones. Anything that fires up my creative thinking is good. Reading is great, of course. But when all is said and done, we still need to sit down and write each day, even if it’s no more than a sentence or two.

      • I totally agree. I do my best to write something every day, if only a paragraph or a line or two. At least then, I’ve added something to my WIP….

    • Hi Lola, thx., for dropping by. Mmmm, chocolate. Since I’m a chocoholic, I try to avoid it, but every now and then I break down and buy a sack of Hershey Kisses or the bag of mixed Hershey bars, but when I do, I pig out on the sack….lol..

  3. When I get writers block the last thing I want to do is think so I focus on different but select TV shows and or movies. After a day or so I’m refreshed and am able to get back into writing the story.

    • Television and movies allow our subconscious to keep working, I think. Our conscious minds take a break, but our muse can still be actively engaged with gathering new ideas and soaking up inspirations. Thanks for visiting, Lindsay.

    • Hi Lindsay, thx., for dropping by. I don’t watch much TV, but when I do, I like Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, and The Vampire Diaries. Mostly, I stick to good action movies or romances. They help me come up with new ideas too.

  4. *raises hand* I’m also a huge fan of hidden object games. Puzzles are great, too, be it on Facebook or real ones.
    When it comes down to it, I don’t think I really suffer from writer’s block. Most of the times, I just trudge ahead and write, even if it’s just a few sentences and I might end up deleting them later. If I write on two things, I focus on the other one for a while. If I really get stuck, then the aforementioned games are great. Or I simply get absorbed in a good book.

    • Yep…just trudge ahead. That’s what it takes. Sure, we need an occasional break, and it’s great that we’ve got so many fun games we can play — all at our fingertips. Another favorite of mine is “Sherlock”. It’s a logic puzzle game. It helps me get my brain engaged each morning before I start work.

    • Hi Devika,
      So glad you stopped by. Oh, yes, puzzles, the great big ones. I used to pour the box of pieces out on my dining table and muddle through one until solved it…Right now, we have 6 year old twins living with us and I imagine parts of a puzzle would simply vanish…lol. If i still lived near the ocean, I’d just sit on a quilt and take in the soothing sounds of the waves crashing to the shore, very relaxing…

  5. TY, Christina for allowing me to be here today! I’m a member of Big Fish, have been for about five years and I only play their Hidden Object games. It’s so much fun and they’re reasonable in their club fees. I forgot to mention that I also play Scramble with another author pal of mine. It keeps both of occupied when we can’t think.

  6. I don`t get blocked too often, but when I do I put the work aside and work on something else. My mind generally rolls things over for a day or two then seems to untangle the knot. If that doesn`t work, I`ll toss the problem to my writing group or online writing friends. It`s amazing what an outside POV can do!

    • Hey Vicki,
      Thx., for taking the time to stop in. I usually have two or three other WIPs in progress, so yes, I, too, sometimes work on them when I’m getting nowhere with the one I need to work on…lol. For some reason I always feel guilty if I do that. I keep telling myself to get back to the one I need to writing…

      • I’ve worked on multiple projects to some extent…like doing edits on one book while writing another, or doing “NaNo” while writing a different story, but I also have one main project I’m focusing on. I don’t multi-task, so switching between too many stories would probably drive me right over the brink! I always think it would be good to have a dozen different stories in the works — in my head, I always do — but the reality of it doesn’t work for me.

    • Having a good critique group/support group can definitely be helpful, especially when they’re eagerly awaiting more of a story… LOL. There have been many times I’ve pushed myself to get busy because I had “critters” wanting to read the next chapter.

      • There are good online groups. I’m a member of the Internet Writers’ Workshop. They have different groups for different genres, both for fiction and non-fiction. I’ve learned a lot through the group and have made a lot of great connections.

      • Hi Christina,
        Yes, before I was published, I was with an online group. Those ladies taught me so much. It’s always good to have an extra set of eyes look at your work.

  7. I don’t have much problem with writer’s block in recent years. When I have a slow start to a writing day, I start by reading and editing my last written chapter. That usually gets me right back in the mode. I stay away from my Free Cell–I play one, and only one, game of that while I’m waiting for the laptop to fully boot up–because it is too addicting. I might decide to research a topic of interest to break my block. If all else fails, I quilt or do counted cross-stitch. They say one of the best things you can do for the brain is to alternate a mundane, repetitious task with your creative activities. (Although quilt design can be pretty creative, but a different creative.) It gives the subconscious a chance to work through things and your brain a chance to recharge.

    • Excellent advice…my mundane task of choice is usually ironing. I know, I know…NOBODY irons any more. Well, I do. Ironing, washing dishes, and scrubbing the kitchen floor all work wonders for the muse.

      • I used to iron all the time, but it’s difficult for me to do these days. However, my granddaughter did some ironing for me while we were Ok. City at the conference. It was her first time to iron…lol.

      • Her first time! LOL. I actually used to use an old flat iron that I heated up on the stove. Since I’m left-handed, I was always burning myself. Back in “the old days”, irons had rigid cords that wouldn’t flex — all designed for use by right-handed people. I discovered the joys of pressing clothes with a “cordless” flat iron. Thank goodness today’s irons have cords that are much more “user-friendly”, even for a southpaw.

    • Hi Robyn,
      Glad you dropped by. Quilt design sounds like fun and very interesting. I remember when grandmother quilted. She had the quilt frames screwed into the ceiling and on Sat. or Sun. the entire neighborhood of older ladies got together and made a quilt. They were beautiful too, ( the quilts, well so were the ladies..lol) The thing is by the time summer was over, everyone had a new quilt for winter…

    • Hi Liza,
      Nice to meet you. I used to walk two miles a day, but I can’t do it anymore. Wish I still could. Walking clears the mind and of course the fresh air is good for you..

      • I used to do a lot of running, too…at least a few miles each morning. Over the last few years, our spring weather has been awful…cold and snow even into May. Then it suddenly gets too hot to run. I miss it. I really do need to get away from this computer desk and get outside a bit more.

  8. I don’t get writer’s block, but I do tend to ‘over-do’ and fry my brain. I’ve had to learn to pace myself. My other challenge can be I’m easily distracted so I have two different writer’s caves which help. Also, sometimes you just need to clear your head when it’s feeling over loaded. I do a work out called t-tapp which stimulates brain function, and that always helps! I’ve never tried running, Christina, but ought to give it a shot.

      • I meant to ask about the t-tapp too…I was thinking it might be the little taps you make to your upper lip, forehead and shoot, can’t recall the other site, chin maybe…but then I could be wrong…lol

    • One of the reasons I stopped walking/running so much is because we live in the city now. Inhaling auto exhaust fumes while running isn’t fun. Neither is carefully watching for crazy drivers. I’d love to have quiet country roads to stroll along early in the morning.

    • Hi Penny,
      We used to live out in the country too and much prefer it to town life. We live in a very small town and out near the western edge of it, still town but not really crowded, so one could walk here, I just can’t due to health reasons. I miss the good old days when I capable of doing a lot of things…lol…

  9. Tabitha, you are thinking of what is called the “Tapping Technique” of which I am familiar with. Have several books on it in fact and learned to do it when I went through coaches training years ago. (Life and relationship coaching). T-tapp though is something different. It’s a work out created by Teresa Tapp, who was the personal trainer for Ford Modeling out of New York before she got into anti-aging/wellness workouts. She has a fifteen minute workout that is great for writers called T-tapp Basic Plus which can be found on her website and purchased as a dvd. http://t-tapp.com

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

