Author Quick Chat with Hildie McQueen

Hi, readers! Today I’ve got author Hildie McQueen here to chat with us. Here’s what I asked her:

 

Tell us a little about the neighborhood where you grew up.



DiscoHere’s Hildie’s answer. Enjoy this little trip with her down memory lane.

* * *

The neighborhood where I grew up in was in South San Diego, just a few miles from the Mexican border, where I was born.

What I loved the best about growing up in the area were the many kids my age in my neighborhood.  We used to play roller-derby, baseball and run around in an empty field acting out parts of movies we’d just watched.  In the late spring, we would catch tadpoles and bring them home in jars.  Moms would turn them free when they turned into frogs.  I wonder how they dealt with so many of the ugly little creatures in the house.

Another great thing about growing up in South San Diego was that once I was a teenager, my sisters and I could take the city bus to the border and hang out with our cousins in Mexico.  We had house parties, went to the movies and in Mexico the nightclubs would open in the afternoons just for teens.  They didn’t serve alcohol, but we felt grown up dancing to the disco beats with all the lights effects.


Now, your turn. Tell us a little about the neighborhood where YOU grew up.


Hildie McQueen

Best selling author Hildie McQueen makes sure emotion, scenery, and sizzling romance add up to a compelling story her readers won’t soon forget. Hildie loves the combination of storytelling and unusual settings. Author of Western Historical, Highland Historical, and Contemporary Romances, she writes something for readers of every genre.

Her favorite past-times are traveling, shopping and reading. She resides in beautiful small town Georgia with her super-hero husband Kurt and three unruly Chihuahuas.

Visit her at her website: Hildie McQueen.  


 

Check out Blue Horizon by Hildie McQueen.

 Josiah McClintock finds himself at a crossroads.  A choice between remaining in Alder Gulch or returning to his previous life.  A life that he’s kept hidden from everyone, including Laura, the woman in his care after a terrible tragedy.

 Laura Foster isn’t sure she has a reason to live after so many losses. Although she doesn’t understand why Josiah insists on being her protector, his presence in her life becomes the only beacon of hope for a future.

 Will they be able to ever come together and when they do will their love overcome secrets, tragedies and the danger that looms?

 

Blue Horizon

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

4 thoughts on “Author Quick Chat with Hildie McQueen

  1. Wow, sure sounds interesting and eventful. Most of my childhood was spent moving and being less than well off, so I can’t really contribute with my neighbourhood. I guess you can summarize it with this sentence: Small villages – hamlets with more animals than people and more fields than houses – that left you stranded and lonely unless you loved to go for walks and bury yourself in books the way I did it as a child.

      • No, but the town where I went to school (from grade 5 onwards) had a public library. What a blessing that was! I fondly remember the lady at the front desk eying my pile of 10 books (more were not allowed per month) and asking me whether I was borrowing for me and my siblings, me replying that they were all for me and I wished they wouldn’t have the limit. 😉

      • How lucky you were to have access to books. This is one of the reasons why I support the Reach Out and Read early childhood literacy program. I want all children to have books, and I also want all parents to understand how important books are in a child’s development.

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

