Reader Interview with Melonie Merritt

From Christina:  
Welcome to ABC Book Chat. Recently it occurred to me that many bloggers are interviewing authors and sharing their thoughts with readers. I thought it might be enlightening to turn that idea around a bit, so I’m going to be interviewing readers and letting them share their thoughts with authors! I know I’m always interested in hearing what readers are looking for.


 

Hi, Melonie! Great to chat with you today. First, would you tell us a little about yourself?

MelonieI live in Illinois. I’m a single mom to a 9 year old little boy. I work full-time as a mechanic at a glass factory and also go to school for my job. I have always been an avid reader for as long as I can remember. I also enjoy bowling, playing pool, and writing poetry.

When did you first begin reading love stories and romance novels?

I just started reading love and romance stories about a year ago!

Do you remember the first romance novel you read?

The first ones I read were  A Matter of Choice by R.M. Alexander and Corporate Ties by Elizabeth Loraine

What appeals to you most in a love story?

I really like when a love story is more than just an easy everything is perfect from the start relationship. To me that is not realistic. I like to see them overcome things and end up with their love!

What are your “pet peeves” in romance novels?

This is similar to the question above. I really am not a fan of stories that make the perfect love seem so easy. When a couple meets and instantly are in love and never disagree and everything goes perfectly.

What genres do you read?

I read everything except historical.

Do you enjoy reading new genres, or do you prefer to stick with your favorites?

I enjoy reading new genres. I am always up for finding new things to read.

What’s your favorite romance genre?

I am a huge fan of second chance love stories.

Have you ever thought of writing a romance novel?

I did when I was a teenager but not anymore.

What would you like to see more of in romance novels?

I would like to see more romance novels that are realistic and contain things that people really go through and that is relatable.

How would you define “love”?

Love to me means that you would do anything for that person and even when things are not perfect you still care about what happens to them.

What values are most important in your life?

Honesty, loyalty, and family are the most important things in my life.

If you could do one thing to change the world, what would it be?

I would like to make enough changes so that people didn’t have to be afraid to go out or let their kids play without watching them like a hawk.

Who has been the biggest influence on your life? Why?

My biggest influence would be my kindergarten teacher Mrs. Foran and my first grade teacher Mrs. Walters. These two even to this day are still there for me. I always wanted to be a teacher and it was all because of these two. They are the kind of teacher that I think all kids should have because they really care for the students both inside and outside the classroom.

Has reading a romance novel ever helped you solve a personal problem or make a decision?

I wouldn’t say that it has helped but I have read several that I could really relate to and made me consider how I was handling things.

Who are your favorite romance authors?

This is a hard question but here are a few. R.M. Alexander, A.L. Wood, T.H. Snyder, K.L. Ruse

What are you reading now?

“The Touch Series” by T.H. Snyder.

Melonie, I want to thank you for taking time from your very busy life to visit here at Author Book Chat. I hope you’ll drop by often and take part in the “Let’s Chat” discussions and the “Author Quick Chats”. We’ll have authors from many different genres dropping by, and you might find a few great books to enjoy.  It’s truly been a pleasure to get to know you. When we’re writing a new romance, it’s good for us to know who our readers are and what they’re hoping to find when they read one of our love stories.

12 thoughts on “Reader Interview with Melonie Merritt

  1. That’s such a great idea, Christina! And what interesting and lovely answers, Melonie! 🙂 I agree with a lot of what you say, especially on what defines love, and that easy as pie relationships are not credible. It’s why I chose to include topics like domestic violence in my debut, ‘When I see your Face’, and why second chances play a role in that book as well as all my coming books. There’s got to be a journey and lessons to learn…
    Happy reading, and thanks for giving us an insight on your life and your reading preferences! 🙂

  2. Nice to meet you Melonie!
    I too love second chance romances, and I take pride in writing romances where the hero and heroine faces struggles both in their lives and in the romance 😉

  3. Pleasure to meet you Melonie! What an awesome idea Christina.

    I agree with you about love happening without any struggles. That`s why I pen romances that have normal people, facing life`s problems head on, as they work at building a relationship.

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

