Author Quick Chat with Lindsay Downs

Hi, readers! Today I’ve got author Lindsay Downs here for a quick chat. Here’s what I asked him:

 

We’ve all got favorite places. What’s yours?



Here’s his answer!

What’s my ‘favorite place’? When we think about this question each one of us could and would come up with a lot of different answers.

French ChateauSince I write contemporary suspense where the heroine has a chateau in Antibes, Fr it could be there. Well, if not exactly in that city but anyplace along the French Riviera could work.

But hold on, I also write regency romantic suspense and regency romance so what about England. Where though, would it be in London, Bath or on an estate? That’s really the question for this question.

All of these places could be considered my ‘favorite place’ but there is one place, without a doubt, that I love to go. I’m talking about my mind.

Yes, I know some of you out there may call me crazy but that’s fine with me. I know I am.

So you see, my most favorite place to go isn’t so much for me but you my readers. I get to take you to a distant place in the world or even a different time. Now, who can ask for more than that?



Now, your turn. What’s YOUR favorite place?



Lindsay Downs

What does it take to be a bestselling author? Determination, skill, talent, luck or taking a risk with a venture into a totally new genre. For me it was a little of some and a lot of the others.

In 2008 when I got two books published I thought it was due to skill; little did I know it was more luck than anything. Over the next three years I wrote, submitted, got rejected. I then did what I tell everyone who asks; I wrote some more. I didn’t give up.

More on a dare than anything I tried my hand at a regency, one of the most difficult genres because of the rules, which I might add I broke almost every one. Within two days of its release the book was on a best seller list and stayed there for two months.

Turns out it is all of the aforementioned.

After two failed marriages, one from divorce while with the other died unexpectedly I decided upon retirement to move. That opportunity came in September 2012 when I migrated to Texas.

For me, as a multipublished author, it was one of the best things I’ve done to date. Now, every day I can write, creating stories to take my readers to places they can only dream about.

I’m also a member of the Published Authors Network (PAN) by the Romance Writers of America (RWA).

 



Check out The Guilty Countess,  a Regency mystery by Lindsay Downs

Accused of murdering her husband, Lady Donna Kersey turns to the only people who can prove her innocence, her brother and his new bride.

As Robert and Kristina start their search for the real killer they learn the murder might be more complicated than first thought. Uncovering evidence sends the three in pursuit of a possible suspect only to find this person is innocent, or is he not guilty of the murder but not something else.

When Robert and Kristina learn Lord Kersey might not be exactly who they believe him to be that’s when the facts become murky. It takes a surprise visit by Kristina’s brother to help set the record straight which only adds more confusion to the facts.

Will Robert and Kristina find the killer of Lord Kersey before the authorities take Lady Kersey away in irons?

Guilty Countess

 

Amazon

6 thoughts on “Author Quick Chat with Lindsay Downs

  1. Great answer to a surprisingly difficult question, Lindsay. I’m still trying to decide on my own “favorite place”. I’m probably say anywhere near a lake, a river, an ocean… but then again, I really love hiking through the forest. It really is a tough question.

  2. Ah, I love your answer! My mind is definitely my favourite place, too. 😉
    Apart from that, the answer is really difficult… I’m quite in love with Munich in Germany, but I’d rather call it my “favourite city” than my favourite place. Like Christina, nature draws me in, especially if there is water.

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

