Author Quick Chat with Melissa Keir

Hi, readers! Today I’ve got author Melissa Keir here for a quick chat. I posed one question to Melissa…and I warned her, it was a challenging question.

What does love mean to you?



HeartsThis is a tough question because it has a diverse meaning. We use the word interchangeably with lust and wants, as well as use it for a variety of items from people to places and things. We love chocolate. We love our children. We love the warm weather. I love it! What does love have to do with it?

Love is silly, unpredictable, frustrating, and yes…blissful. It can last a lifetime or a brief moment. Love happens at a glance and over many years. Animals feel love and love crosses genders and continents.

So many different meanings and uses. But I’m going to talk about what love means to me. Love is a feeling. It has a basis in our brains and cells. Love is one of the five basic needs that all humans have:

  • Love and Belonging
  • Fun
  • Freedom
  • Survival
  • Power or Recognition.

With love, we need to feel a sense of belonging, a sense of community or family. We need to feel close to one particular person. This person we click with in some way. For some of us, they remind us of a family member or old boyfriend, or even a favorite character in a book. They make us want to be a better person and provide us with feeling wanted and useful, sexy and desirable.

When I met my husband, I was divorced and had some issues with trust. Mr. Keir made me feel like I was important. He sent me silly texts and emails throughout my day, just to let me know he was thinking of me. It wasn’t love at first sight for us. In fact, he rubbed me the wrong way at first. But when I got to know his sarcastic sense of humor, I realized that he was a man who kept my brain on its toes. Hey, brains are sexy in a guy! So is a sense of humor. At least to me! And while Mr. Keir wasn’t built like Hugh Jackman, his body “fit” mine. In other words, he’s only a little taller than me and has strong shoulders and arms to hold me close. However, he urged me to stand on my own feet rather than rely on another. As I said, he made me want to be a better person. I see that as love…not lust, but a deep sense of commitment and caring for another human being, someone you could spend the rest of your life with.

When I write about my heroes in my books, they have pieces of Mr. Keir in them. Whether it’s their caring nature, or the way they push the heroine to be stronger…those things are little hints at the deep love I share with my husband and what I want for my characters. After all, isn’t a happily ever after the goal of every romance writer?

What do you love? What does love mean to you?



I’ll ask the same question Melissa asks: What does love mean to YOU?



Melissa author pic

Melissa Keir has always wanted to be an author when she wasn’t hoping for a career as a race car driver. Her mother and grandparents who were avid readers instilled her love of books. She’d often sneak books away from them so that she could fantasize about those strong alpha males and plucky heroines. In middle school and high school, Melissa used to write sappy love poems, shared them with her friends, and still has those poems today! In college, her writing changed to sarcastic musings on life as well as poems with a modern twist on fairy tales and won awards for her writing. You can find many of these musings along with her latest releases on her website and blog.

 

 

 

As a writer, Melissa likes to keep current on topics of interest in the world of writing.  She’s a member of the Romance Writers of America, Mid-Michigan RWA Chapter, and EPIC.  She is always interested in improving her writing through classes and seminars.

 

Melissa doesn’t believe in down time. She’s always keeping busy. Melissa is a wife and mother, an elementary school teacher, a book reviewer, owner of a publishing company as well as an author. Her home blends two families and is a lot like the Brady Bunch, without Alice- a large grocery bill, tons of dirty dishes and a mound of laundry. She loves to write stories that feature happy endings and is often seen plotting her next story.

 

Website:  Melissa Keir 



 

 

Check out Melissa’s latest release: Forever Love

Fifteen years ago, Syndie Wilder left her small hometown- Amherst, Ohio- to escape the pain of losing her best friend and boyfriend. Deciding that Chicago offered more for an up and coming jewelry designer, she enjoyed the big city life until she chooses to return and care for her father. Taking care of her father and relocating her internet business, Syndie has no time or desire for romance but fate has a way of playing with best-laid plans.

Thom Johnson broke Syndie’s heart all those years ago and regrets it every day. As a firefighter, Thom sets out to protect Amherst and redeem himself for his bad choices. However, he never has forgotten Syndie and the hurt he caused her.

When a chance meeting happens, can the two former friends allow themselves the chance to become friends again, or will the sparks turn a childhood friendship into a forever love?

fireman's helmet and jacket

 

 

Amazon

22 thoughts on “Author Quick Chat with Melissa Keir

  1. “Lovely” question and answer! 🙂 I think for me, love means trust and loyalty. It means accepting somebody, and oneself, with all flaws and madness. It means sharing, working together to spend a life of happiness.
    I’d never thought I’d find Mr. Right, and I got scolded from all and sundry for getting married at such a young age, but I have found true love with my husband.

    • Thank you Robyn. Dr. William Glasser writes about the five basic needs and how to stay married. His work has been a blessing to me and he was a good friend before his passing last year. You can look his work up.

      But I agree about what I love in a romance novel. We need characters who are flawed yet find true love. We all do want a happily ever after!

  2. Thank you for having me. This was a tough question to put into words. It took me almost a month to get my thoughts right. I hope everyone shares their thoughts because we all could use more love in this world! ❤

  3. D'Ann says:

    Great post! Love means to me a man strong enough to let me be me. Physically strong, too, but what I mean is I’m a strong personality and many a man has tried to tame me. I’ve been married 31 years this August to the guy I met at 17, so something must be working!

    • I agree D’Ann. No man worth his salt would try to change his special love/wife/gf. You have a fairy tale marriage and I’m so proud that you are going on 31 years. 🙂

  4. You are very formal with your hubby. Mr. Keir. I thought we gave that up in the the Victorian age. Liza determined to misinterpret and cause trouble for a laugh.

    • I do that as a habit from teaching. I am Mrs. Keir to the students and he is Mr. Keir… 🙂 Of course, maybe I love that little bit of formal…. And you get to be Ms. Liza! ❤

  5. Great answer!

    I had that fairytale love, and when it ended I wasn’t expecting to feel so empty. I had no idea how much love fills us and makes us so complete.

    • I have thought that I had that fairy tale love and forgot that it takes a lot of work. Dr. Glasser once said to me that even in bad times you should have sex daily, it makes you feel closer. I try to remember that when I’m in need of a pick me up!

    • Thank you Jill. It took me a while to find it. I do like that my husband understands who I am and where I come from. We are a lot more alike and that really helps with communication. Except when we both are having our hearing issues! Then it’s like talking to yourself! 🙂

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

