In the Good Ol’ Summertime

Summer ReadingI’m in a summertime state of mind. Although I enjoy good books any time of the year, I’ve always looked at summer as a special time for reading. There’s something about sitting beneath a shade tree with a glass of lemonade and a sweet love story…or lounging about on the porch swing on a summer’s eve, turning pages, and sighing as another couple finds their “happily ever after”. Sometimes I even enjoy a bit of old-fashioned sun-bathing while I immerse myself in a good story.

I find that my reading preferences tend toward “lighter” books in the summer…nothing too deep, too ponderous, too thought-provoking. I’m in more of a mood for entertainment, quick reads, and stories that make me smile.

How about YOU? Do your reading habits change when summer rolls around? Do you read more? Less? Where are your favorite places to curl up with a good book?  What’s on your summertime reading list this year?

 



 

 Let’s chat about summertime!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “In the Good Ol’ Summertime

  1. I guess my reading time is also in cycles. I’m busier in the summer, when the kids are out of school, and I’m usually babysitting at least up to three kids lately. I usually look forward to school starting, since I ‘get my life back’, ha ha! But I’m home schooling my youngest this year, so both writing and reading time will be about the same right now. I squeeze it in whenever I get a free moment, plus take time before bed to read a chapter (or more if I can’t put it down!).

    • A lot of families are busier during the summer months, and that can make reading more of a challenge. I think that’s one reason why I like the “lighter” stories…ones I can put down, pick up, put down, pick up… and not be too lost, if you know what I mean. Light-hearted, fun stories are perfect, as is anything short and sweet.

  2. I can read anything at any time, even Christmas novellas at the middle of the year. *lol* Summer and typically summer stuff has lost its meaning because we have no 4 seasons here in Sri Lanka. But I do have a book at hand at the moment that makes for a perfect summer read: The Summer They Never Forgot by Kandy Shepherd from Australia. 🙂

    • Sounds like an interesting read. I sometimes enjoy reading “YA” stories in the summer months. Maybe it takes me back to my own childhood when summer meant vacation time. Of course, I usually do my yearly re-reading of Treasure Island during the summer, too.

Let's Chat! Please share your thoughts.

